A street in black and white

For this exercise we were asked to shoot a street in both black and white. Please see the images below.

I think the main difference is what I noticed about Levitt’s work which is that the black and white gives a timeless feel to the images and we feel distant to the subject matter.  The color makes it seem much more realistic and as if we were there.

I can’t say 100% either way which I prefer as I think each photograph has it own strengths and weaknesses, but overall I would say I prefer the black and white as I personally find photographing Istanbul streets difficult because there is so much going on and I like to have a ‘cleaner’ view so the black and white images instantly  make the images less cluttered.

Here are the color photos:

Here is the street in color:

Leave a Reply

