1 in 8 million

The New York Times did a really engaging project where they photographed the lives of a variety of New Yorkers and then in slide show fashion added their story being told in their words.  I thought this was a really interesting way to convey the lives of different New Yorkers. The addition of the narrative gave the work a personal quality that I though really added the human element to the photos.

I also thought that I might want to do a project like this for one of my assignments so I will need to figure out how they did this (technically speaking) and figure out which assignment it would best for.

I am also interested in Duane Michals work where he uses hand written text to give more insight.  I did this once as a way to keep a journal of the things that the boys say, so I may re-visit this idea as I really enjoyed it and it seems to fit in with the context and narrative approach in this class.

Here is the link for my own future reference:

http://www.nytimes.com/packages/html/nyregion/1-in-8-million/#/henrique_prince

 

Leave a Reply

