Exercise–Photographing a Poem

I chose to photograph the very short poem “I Go Down to the Shore” by Mary Oliver.  She is one of my favorite poets and I have been reading her poetry for years now.  A survivor of childhood sexual abuse, Oliver uses nature as a way to move through and explain life.

This particular poem I think fits well with the current times. With Brexit and Trump and other less progressive movements making their way into the foreground, I felt this poem was appropriate because a good number of us feel scared, worried, and vulnerable and when we turn to nature we find solace in that she doesn’t care and keeps moving on, which to me is a metaphor for getting through tough times.

I chose to do two photographs.  The first one I am feeling vulnerable and exposed the second one I am embracing nature in its indifference to me.

Here is the poem:

I go down to the shore in the morning
and depending on the hour the waves
are rolling in or moving out,
and I say, oh, I am miserable,
what shall—
what should I do? And the sea says
in its lovely voice:
Excuse me, I have work to do.”

Mary Oliver, A Thousand Mornings

My images:

Leave a Reply

