The Radical Eye at Tate Modern

I was in London over the school holidays so I was pleased to see that Tate had a photography exhibition on.  Sir Elton John has graciously loaned his photography collection.  And what a collection it is.  A number of the ‘big’ names that I have studied via OCA were represented in his collection.  I didn’t know he was such a photography buff.  It was impressive.

Sadly, I couldn’t take any photographs of the work, so I wrote down the names of some of them that struck me.  One that I was really happy to see in person and up close was Dorothea Lange’s “Migrant Mother.’ Such an iconic image and one I grew up seeing here and there.  The other one, ‘The Damage is Already Done’ is of a young girl living through the Great Depression and she clearly carries it in her eyes.  As I noted in an earlier post, I love Lange and her work, so this was a real treat.

Elton seemed to be the biggest fan of Man Ray, of whose images I did enjoy.  Honestly, it was a really well put together collection and I enjoyed nearly all of it.  The one that stuck out to me the most was ‘My Brother Icarus’ by Kertesz.  It was a jubilant moment caught on film, but the title also I found humorous and a look into the brotherly relationship.

I was inspired by the photograph by Josef Breitenbach titled ‘Child’s World’ and since I couldn’t take a photograph of it, I wrote it down to look up later as I thought I could use it for inspiration for assignment 3, but alas, I cannot now find the image.

The other one I wrote down, was by Edward Weston titled ‘Nude 1936 and 1937.’  I have an idea for assignment 5 that this might work for.  But we will see.

It was an enjoyable exhibition and I recommend seeing it.

Leave a Reply

