Feedback from the Forum–A3

This assignment was a little more difficult to share because they are self-portraits and I rarely take photographs of myself.  As I was reading for the course, I came across a quote by Sontag that says, ‘to take a photograph is to participate in another person’s (or thing’s) mortality, vulnerability, mutability’ (Sontag 1977).  But in this case, it is the viewers participating in my –in particular- vulnerability.  But the people on the FB forum (The OCA one for C and N is sadly not very active) are very kind in their feedback, so it was OK in the end.

Essentially the feedback was good.  One suggested I narrow down the shots–which I plan to do.  Another suggested to make the meditating in black dress shot more zoomed out.  I think this is a good suggestion, but it might look too much like the very zoomed out one I will put at the end, so I will wait and see what the tutor feedback is.

Funnily enough, the shot I thought was the most ridiculous, was the most popular (upside down with leaf).  And now that I look at it again, it is growing on me, so I will include it in the series.  I feel like maybe it needs more of my chest to balance it, but again, I will see the feedback and re-shoot if I need to.

Nobody commented on being confused about my concept and felt the images captured what I had set out to do–so that was helpful and good to know.

Source:

Sontag, S. (1977) On Photography. 1st ed. New York: Penguin-Putnam

Leave a Reply

