Mann-again and Assignment 4 Feedback

I re-watched Sally Mann’s movie after my skype call with my tutor.  I picked up a few more things that I might add to the analysis that is assignment 4.

One thing that Robert nudged me towards was on substantiating my analysis that Mann photographed her children because of a lacking of being seen as a child herself by her father.  Because I didn’t have anything to back it up, I needed to go back to the drawing board.

This inkling I have is pretty strong for some reason, so I don’t want to drop it.  This morning, I spent a couple of hours reading interviews, articles, etc., about the Sontag quote on Arbus that sparked this idea about Mann and her father.  I wrote something up and I will further develop and add research to after I give it some time to cool off and let my brain digest what I have written.  Plus, the paper is up to 1300 words at the moment, so there is some editing in my future.

In the film, there are bits that I missed regarding her father as well as the way that her husband defines her as a photographer.  Her mother also adds some interesting tidbits about Mann’s childhood that could further develop my analysis, though I think I might be going a little overboard on context.

I also need to come up with a question to frame the essay as well as add the image.

He also have some more reading suggestions, which I shall do straight away and hopefully be able to use in my analysis.

Leave a Reply

