My own archives

I think it would be interesting to look at my photo archives from before my life with children, but after I left the US.  My life has changed so much, so I think there could be an interesting project there.

It might also be interesting to look at images I took of my sons before I started thinking seriously about photographs and then compare them to images after I started thinking more seriously about it.  For one, there are far less shots now then before.  For some reason I feel that less is more.  In a lot of ways, I am going against the snap happy culture I see with so many parents, so know I try to take photographs that are more meaningful and significant. But I have also become more aware of ‘good’ photography and sometimes I think this has hindered me a little.

Another project could be to look through my family photographs that my dad gave to me before he died.  I didn’t have the most happy childhood, but I know my dad loved me, so it could be interesting to look at what images he chose to send to me and what that might say about how he felt about my upbringing.

Leave a Reply

